Skip to content

2020 SCMHS Honor Graduates announced

In a school year unlike any other with school closures and social separation becoming the norm because of the COVID-19 crisis, the Class of 2020 is preparing to officially end  its year in a not so normal world. However the local school system is not about to let the following annual end-of-year announcement be presented with anything less than its normal sense of pride and admiration. With that said, the Seminole County School System proudly announces the forty-four Honor Graduates for the Seminole County Middle/High School Senior Class of 2020.

 The Valedictorian for the Seminole County Class of 2020, and receiving Superintendent’s Honors, is Abigale Haywood.

The daughter of Teresa Haywood, Abigale was a green-bleeding member of the Lady Indians varsity basketball team and was in the National Honor Society.  After graduation she will be attending the University of Georgia and pursuing a degree in Research Medicine.

 The Salutatorian for the Seminole County Class of 2020 and also receiving Superintendent’s Honors is Masey Tabb.

The daughter of Tommy and April Tabb, Masey, a true-green Indian record setter, was on the varsity Cross Country and swim teams, as well as a member of the Honor Society and FFA. After graduation, she plans to attend Thomas University and Florida State University with plans to pursue a degree in Civil and Environmental Engineering. 

Seminole County Middle/High School Principal Shane Purdy commented, “We are very proud of all of our Honor Graduates and the hard work they put in during their high school career.  The unusually large number of Honor Graduates shows the determination and fortitude of the Class of 2020. I look forward to seeing what each of their bright futures hold as they prepare for their next endeavors.  We at SCHS are extremely thankful for the opportunity we’ve had to be a part of the educational experience of each of these fine young people.”

 In addition to the class’s Valedictorian and Salutatorian, four students,  Ty’Ina Moore, Shelby Godby, Millie Holt, and Annie Register, received Superintendent’s Honors.

Students receiving Principal’s Honors include Abigail Grantham, Larry King, Kamaya Gosier, Hunter Hodges, Cintorra Jackson, Raelyn Kearns, Precious Morman, Terryan Bryant, Jaleah Wolfe, Jeremiah Sims, Macy Williams, Autumn Sherrer, Chandler Alday, Angel Barlow, Peyton Price, LaDazmun Brannon, Jalisa Wolfe, Cooper Bell, Elizabeth King, Jose Alvarez, Lee Martin, Jared Rogers, and Kermisha Foster

Students receiving honors include Jay Patel, MyKenna McCord, Destiny Jones, Cassidi Brown, Brandi Brown AL’asia Bullock, Alyssa Wallace, Xzaveon Conley, Aubry Moody, Kaylanise Howard, Bailey Dixon, Matoya Murphy, Reygan Lee, William Brooks, and Brandi Thompson.

Honor graduates are those students who have maintained at least a 90 cumulative grade point average throughout their high school years.  The student with the highest overall grade point average for the graduating class is named the Class Valedictorian and the student with the second highest grade point average is the Class Salutatorian.  Students who earn a 97 – 100 grade point average receive Superintendent’s honors, students who earn a 93 – 96 grade point average receive Principal’s honors and students who earn a 90 – 92 grade point average receive honors.  

Final details for the class’s end of the year graduation ceremony and other related events are still in development and will be announced soon.



Leave a Comment