Skip to content

Seminole County Young Farmers achieve award-winning yield at GYFA Convention

Pictured here, left to right are Stan Deal, Cindy Bowen, Brittany Bowen, John Emmett Bowen, Dustin Bowen, Stephanie Mims, Greg Mims, Katibeth Mims Wise, Susan Braswell, Jeff Braswell, Wes Pace and Will Pace 

The 52nd annual Georgia Young Farmers Association Convention was held this past weekend at the Marriott Savannah Riverfront Convention Center in Savannah, GA.    

The GYFA convention is the highlight of the year for GYFA members.  State award winners are announced, scholarship winners are recognized, competitions are held, and a newly elected Board of Directors are installed. The Georgia Young Farmers Association Convention is a family event that offers fun family activities and women’s programs each year.  To get the convention started off in the right fashion, Jeff Braswell opened the event with our National Anthem.  Jeff performed the Anthem both nights of the convention, and was commended for his great singing talents.

On the opening night of the convention awards program, Seminole County Young Farmer member Susan Braswell was announced the South Region winner of the GYFA Outstanding Member Award and recognized as one of the three state finalists.  The three state finalists for the GYFA Young Beginning Producer award were called on stage next, and Dustin Bowen was announced as the state winner.  Dustin earned a trip to Ag Promise in Washington, D.C. for winning the award.  The Seminole County Young Farmer chapter was recognized next for having the largest membership increase among all GYFA chapters.  The chapter was awarded a plaque for being the state winner and a $1,500.00 check.  In the spokesperson contest, Katibeth Mims Wise represented Seminole County.  Katibeth prepared a five minute statement on “Agriculture in a Virtual World” and presented her speech before a panel of judges.  In addition, she was challenged to a number of questions concerning her topic for ten minutes.  The next morning during the breakfast awards ceremony, Katibeth was announced as the state winner of the GYFA Spokesperson Contest award.   

On the last night of the convention, the Terrell Weeks Scholarship award presentation took place.  The eight top Senior students selected from applicants submitted by every Young Farmer chapter in the state were called to the stage with their advisors.  Seminole County FFA President and Jr. Young Farmer member Will Pace was one of those eight elite Seniors who were honored.  At the conclusion of the GYFA convention during Saturday night’s banquet, the 2021 GYFA board of directors were retired, and the newly elected board for 2022 was announced.  Jeff Braswell was announced as the 2022 GYFA Treasurer. Stan Deal retired from the 2021 GYFA executive board after serving this past year as Past President. 

The Seminole County Young Farmer chapter was represented again by a large group of its members.  Those making the trip were Cindy Bowen, Dustin Bowen, Brittany Bowen, John Emmett Bowen, Jeff Braswell, Susan Braswell, Stan Deal, Brian Harrell, Rhonda Harrell, Lacey Harrell, Grant Harrell, Holli Anderson, Greg Mims, Stephanie Mims, Katibeth Mims Wise, Justin Odom, Paige Odom, Wes Pace and Will Pace.

The Seminole County Young Farmer chapter holds post-secondary agriculture classes throughout the year and welcomes anyone who would like to join and support the organization.  Membership becomes open when a high school student enters his or her Senior year of school.  Membership dues are as follows:  $40 for single members; $50 for couples; $10 for Junior members (18-21 years of age).  

Please contact Wes Pace at 229-220-1233 if you would like to join or have questions about the Young Farmer program.    

Leave a Comment