Skip to content

23 percent of local voters cast ballot in May 24 Primary

With no contested Seminole County races on the ballot, only 23.1 percent or 1,309 of Seminole County’s 5,664 registered voters cast a ballot in Tuesday’s Primary Election. 

Running unopposed, Seminole County Commissioner, District Two Shelia D. Williams received 224 votes; Seminole County Commissioner, District Four Jeffrey C. Braswell received 279 votes; Seminole County School Board member, District One Spencer E. Stewart received 291 votes; Seminole County School Board member, District Five William Leslie Robinson received 324 votes and Seminole County School Board, District Three Trent F. Clark received 132 votes.

In state and national races, Seminole County voters preferred U.S. Senate candidate Hershel Walker over former Agriculture Commissioner Gary Black, 863 to 296. Statewide, Walker defeated Black 68% to 13%. Republican candidate Walker will now face Democratic Senator Raphael Warnock in November.

For U.S. House of Representative District Two local voters preferred Chris West over Jeremy Hunt and Wayne Johnson. Statewide Republican candidates, Real estate developer Chris West and political commentator Jeremy Hunt, will face off in a June 21 runoff for the right to face incumbent Congressman Sanford Bishop in November.

In the race for Governor, Seminole County voters preferred Governor Brian Kemp over challenger David Perdue, 934 to 318. Statewide, Republican candidate and incumbent Governor Kemp defeated Perdue 74% to 22%. Kemp will now face Democratic candidate Stacey Abrams in November in a rematch from the last Governor’s race when Kemp narrowly defeated Abrams.

Republic Candidate Tyler Harper will face Democratic candidate Nakita Hemingway for the state’s Agriculture Commissioner in November, and
incumbent State School Superintendent Richard Woods will face Democratic candidate Alisha Thomas Searcy in November for the right to lead the state’s school system.

All election results are unofficial until certified by the Georgia Secretary of State.

For complete county by county statewide election results visit

Leave a Comment