Skip to content

Advance voting begins Monday, June 13th for June 21st Runoff

Georgia’s next big election is a runoff set for Tuesday, June 21, and the Democratic challengers for four of the state’s top constitutional offices will be decided, along with several key congressional runoffs throughout the state that could sway Capitol Hill’s balance of political power.

Under Georgia law, if no candidate breaks 50% in an election, the top two vote-getters are in a runoff. Under voter reforms passed in 2021, Georgia’s runoffs are now set for four weeks after primary election Day.

Early voting for the June 21 runoff begins at 8:30 a.m. on Monday, June 13, and will continue through Friday, June 17 – each day during the regular business hours of  8:30 a.m. until 5 p.m. 

All Seminole County early voting is taking place at the Seminole County Courthouse located at 200 South Knox Avenue in downtown Donalsonville.

The last day to submit a request for an absentee ballot for the runoff is this Friday, June 10, and the final opportunity to vote will be on Election Day, June 21 at the polling place in your local precinct.

For more information or for questions about the election and your voting rights, call Seminole County’s election officials, Election Superintendent Michael Jon Rogerson, or Chief Deputy Registrar Kristy Wilson at 229-524-5256.

Here is a look at who’s on the ballot in Seminole County:

Republican 2nd Congressional District runoff: Jeremy Hunt  and Chris West. The winner will face incumbent Congressman Sanford Bishop this Fall. 

Democratic Lieutenant Governor’s runoff: Kwanza Hall and Charlie Bailey. Hall is a former Atlanta city councilman and U.S. congressman, while Bailey, an attorney, is seeking his first elected office. The winner will face Republican state Sen. Burt Jones, who won his GOP primary on May 24. This Fall’s race is for an open seat, as Republican incumbent Geoff Duncan is not seeking reelection.

Democratic Secretary of State runoff: Dee Dawkins-Haigler and Bee Nguyen. Dawkins-Haigler is a former state lawmaker, while Nguyen is a current member of the state House and has the endorsement of Democratic gubernatorial nominee Stacey Abrams. The winner will face incumbent Republican Brad Raffensperger, who won his GOP primary without a runoff in a crowded contest.

Democratic Insurance Commissioner’s runoff: Janice Laws Robinson and Raphael Baker. The winner will face Republican incumbent John King in November.

Democratic Labor Commissioner’s runoff: William Boddie and Nicole Horn. The winner will meet Bruce Thomson, who won his GOP primary on May 24.

Leave a Comment