Skip to content

Nominations now open for the 2022 Seminole County Citizen of the Year award

What one dedicated citizen has worked tirelessly to promote progress and improvements to the quality of life in this community? The Donalsonville-Seminole County Chamber of Commerce invites citizens and organizations of Seminole County to nominate that person for the 2022 Citizen of the Year award. The deadline for nominations is Friday, January 20 at 5 p.m., and the recipient will be announced at the Chamber’s Annual Meeting and Banquet to be held January 26 from 6 to 8 p.m.

Nomination letters received after the January 20th deadline will not be accepted or considered by the out-of-town selection committee set to review the nominations to determine a recipient based on the following criteria:

Nominee prominently participated in a new or existing civic endeavor during 2022 and the results of their efforts provided a clear, discernible positive impact on the citizens of Seminole County.

Actions taken must have influenced or aided in the advancement of a community ideal such as education, charity, civic cooperation, beautification, patriotism, etc.

Written nominations should include the name, contact information, and reasons the individual should be considered. It must also have the name, address and phone number of the person or persons making the nomination. Anonymous nominations will not be accepted.

Nominations may be mailed to the Donalsonville-Seminole County Chamber of Commerce, 122 East Second Street, Donalsonville, Georgia 39845,  dropped by the chamber office or emailed to For more information contact Sarah Avery at the chamber by calling 229-524-2588.

No award was given in 2020 and the previous fourteen recipients of the Citizen of the Year Award include: 2021 co-recipients Moses James and Angela Hagen; 2019 Billy Williams, 2018 Cindy Meadows and Andrew Warner, 2017 Chris Thomas, 2016 Mitch Royals, 2015 David Maxwell, 2014 Jim Anderson, 2013 Wayne Coachman, 2012 Marsha Bond,  2011 Virginia Harrison, 2010 Bo McLeod and 2009 Greg Mims.

Leave a Comment