Skip to content

Chamber’s Youth Leadership class graduates

Pictured left to right, front row: Kadie Matthews, Arabella Touchton, Madison Martin, Hannah Snider, Ashlyn Thompson, Kynia Blake, and Nancy Jernigan; back row: Aspen Thompson, Ethan Gravlee, Landon Kirkland, Jonathan Jarvis, and Hope Humphries

The Donalsonville-Seminole Chamber of Commerce held a graduation dinner and ceremony last Thursday evening for its 2023/2024 First Port City Bank Youth Leadership class. 

David Maxwell, Chamber of Commerce chairman, presented graduation certificates to Ashlyn Thompson, Aspen Thompson, Landon Kirkland, Hope Humphries, Ethan Gravlee, Jonathan Jarvis, Hannah Snider, Madison Martin, Kynia Blake, and Arabella Touchton.

The purpose of the leadership program is to prepare strong and effective leaders for the future development of the community, the state, and the world.

This year’s program kicked off in early August.  September’s session featured a Career Day Panel, where several different business professionals came in to speak with the kids about career options.  October’s session was a field trip to Southern Regional Technical College in Bainbridge.  In November, the students practiced mock interviews, and December featured an activity called the Amazing Shake, where the students were given real life scenarios that they had to answer on the spot.  In January, Chamber Board member Ray Spooner spoke with the students, and then they presented their cost-of-living budget projects.  

They also worked on a group project designing a landscape concept for downtown’s future Community Corner park.

The chamber’s Kadie Matthews commented, “We had such a great group of students this year and are extremely proud of them all.  We would also like to say a huge thank you to our committee who worked hard to plan each session, the volunteers who showed up each month, and thank you to First Port City Bank for sponsoring such a great program!”

The leadership committe includes Sarah Avery, Kadie Matthews, Ray Spooner, Tori Gravlee, Michael Kirkland, Latoya Fennell, Mary Jean Albritton,  and Kacee Holt.

Leave a Comment