Skip to content

Five Boy Scouts inducted into the Order of the Arrow

Pictured are Tommy Johnson, Jr Atwater, Aspen Thompson, Emmett Payne, Luke Foster, and Scoutmaster Mitch Royals

During a recent Order of the Arrow ordeal ceremony, five young Boy Scouts from Troop 700 in Donalsonville were inducted into the Order. Scoutmaster Mitch Royals was there to celebrate their induction and to show his pride in the achievements and accomplishments of Tommy Johnson, Jr Atwater, Aspen Thompson, Emmett Payne, and Luke Foster, the five local Boy Scout inductees.  

Induction into the Order of the Arrow is reserved for a select group of Scouts who exemplify the Scout Oath and Law in their daily lives. By being recognized, these Scouts provide encouragement for others to live these ideals as well. 

These Arrowmen are known for maintaining camping traditions and spirit. They promote year-round and long-term camping while providing cheerful service to others. Involvement by youth provides leadership development and enrichment. Order of the Arrow was formed in 1915 with a purpose of making the Scout Oath and Law spring into action. To this day, the Order is dedicated to this same high purpose. 

Each of these young men had to be elected by their peers to become eligible to join the Order. After their election, they had to go through an ordeal to prove themselves worthy of becoming Arrowmen. These young men proved themselves worthy of the honor and are splendid examples of the fine young people from Seminole County who are involved in Scouting.  

Scoutmaster Royals commented, “Join me in congratulating these young men on this high honor.”

Leave a Comment