Skip to content

SCMHS graduation set for May 26th

Baccalaureate Service is Wednesday, May 24,  6 p.m. to 7 p.m. at the Donalsonville Church of God 

The Seminole County Middle/High School Class of 2023 Graduation and Commencement Program will be held at the Jesse McLeod Gymnasium beginning at 7:30 p.m. on Friday, May 26. The doors will open at 6:00 p.m. and will close at 7:20 p.m. All guests must have a ticket.

 The ceremony will open with the processional of the Class of 2023 followed by the Pledge of Allegiance recited by Rand Mims, the invocation from Shivani Kapadia and a welcome from Kathryn  Baxter.  

Lillie Hornsby will give the Salutatory Address followed by the SCMHS Legacy show choir performing You Will Be Found.

After the musical performance,  Valedictorian Will Miller will present his Valedictory Address followed by the Presentation of Diplomas from Seminole County School Superintendent Mark Earnest, SCMHS Principal Shane Purdy, SCMHS Assistant Principal Mary Jean Albritton, and SCMHS Counselor Natalie Horne. 

The ceremony will conclude with the Alma Mater led by Will Walker, the changing of the tassels led by Will Miller, and the recessional of the Class of 2023.

Each graduate’s family will have reserved seats together in the gym.  If a graduate wants to give his/her tickets to another classmate  who needs more than the allotted nine tickets,  then the extra people will be required  to sit with the family of the student  who is giving  the extra ticket(s)  away.

The graduation will be live on Facebook.   Cameras will be set up close to the stage so that the quality is very clear.  There will not be an overflow crowd area for people to watch it in the cafeteria on a TV.

Etiquette for Seminole County 

High School Graduation

The graduates deserve a dignified ceremony.  In order to provide a distinguished and memorable commencement exercise, all members of the audience are expected to comply with the following requests:

All guests in the gymnasium must be seated as soon as they arrive.

Do not cheer, whistle, or call out to individuals as diplomas are presented.

Refrain from all conversation during the ceremony.

Hold applause until ALL diplomas have been presented.  To honor a graduate, please stand quietly when the graduate’s name is called. All graduates will be honored with a moment of applause near the end of the ceremony.

Turn cell phones and pagers off.

Those who exit the gymnasium during the ceremony will not be allowed to re-enter.

Your cooperation in these matters is greatly appreciated.

No balloons  or any items  that might  obstruct  viewing  will  be  allowed  in  the  gym. 

Junior Marshalls for the graduation ceremony are Ethan Michael Ausley,  Lanie Elizabeth Brown, Jeb Vincent Burke, Sara Jo Fain, Emma Elizabeth Harrell,  Kennadi Danelle Jones,  Landon Joel Kirkland, Madison Nicole Martin, Kerionna LaShiah Moore, Kelsey Ada Nunnery, Gabrielle Lavonne Parker, Mackenzie Lauren Rigdon, Ellie Kate Stewart, Ashlyn Marie Thompson, amd Arabella Calyx Touchton.

Leave a Comment